Nancy B. Olson Award

The annual Nancy B. Olson award (formerly called "OLAC Award") recognizes and honors a librarian who has made significant contributions to the advancement and understanding of audiovisual and/or electronic resources cataloging. The Awards Committee selects a recipient based on nominations received, subject to approval by the Executive Board at the midwinter meeting.
Eligibility for nomination is as follows:

  • Nominees may be OLAC members, but membership in the organization is not a requirement.
  • The nomination must be accompanied by a statement that provides supporting evidence of the nominee's qualifications.
  • The nominations and statement(s) must be postmarked no later than November 15, and must be received by the Award Committee Chair no later than December 1.
  • Nominees shall have made contributions to audiovisual or electronic resources cataloging by:
    • Furthering the goals of standardization of AV and/or electronic resources cataloging, including MARC coding and tagging;
    • Interpreting AV and/or electronic resources cataloging rules and developing policies on organization for these materials on the national and/or international levels;
    • Promoting the understanding of AV and/or electronic resources cataloging, coding and data exchange by professionals unfamiliar with these materials and processes.

The award recipient will receive an engraved plaque containing an inscription recognizing his/her special contribution to the field.


The Nancy B. Olson award shall be administered by an Awards Committee, consisting of three OLAC members, no more that two of whom may be members of the OLAC Executive Board. The past OLAC President shall chair the Awards Committee. The OLAC President shall sign the letter of presentation and present the award to the recipient at the OLAC annual membership meeting.


List of Recipients:

  • no award, 2017
  • Heidi Frank 2016
  • Mary Huismann 2015 
  • no award, 2014
  • Kelley McGrath, 2013
  • Bobby (Robert) Bothmann, 2012
  • Greta de Groat, 2011
  • Julie Renee Moore, 2010
  • Paige G. Andrew, 2009
  • Mary Lynette Larsgaard, 2007
  • no award, 2006
  • Jay Weitz, 2005
  • Ann Caldwell, 2004
  • Jean R. Weihs, 2003
  • no award, 2002
  • no award, 2001
  • no award, 2000
  • Sheila A. Smyth, 1999 (first recipient of the newly named Nancy B. Olson Award)
  • John Attig, 1998
  • Sue Neumeister, 1997
  • no award, 1996
  • Laurel Jizba, 1995
  • no award, 1994
  • Ann Sandberg-Fox, 1993
  • Glenn Patton, 1992
  • Catherine Leonardi, 1991
  • Richard Thaxter, 1990
  • no award, 1989
  • Sheila Intner, 1988
  • Verna Urbanski, 1987
  • Nancy Olson, 1986 (OLAC Founder Award)