Nancy B. Olson Award

Eligibility for nomination is as follows:

  • Nominees may be OLAC members, but membership in the organization is not a requirement.
  • The nomination must be accompanied by a statement that provides supporting evidence of the nominee's qualifications.
  • The nominations and statement(s) must be received by the Award Committee Chair (OLAC Past President) no later than January 1.
  • Nominees shall have made contributions to audiovisual or electronic resources cataloging by:
    • Furthering the goals of standardization of AV and/or electronic resources cataloging, including MARC coding and tagging;
    • Interpreting AV and/or electronic resources cataloging rules and developing policies on organization for these materials on the national and/or international levels;
    • Promoting the understanding of AV and/or electronic resources cataloging, coding and data exchange by professionals unfamiliar with these materials and processes.

The award recipient will receive an engraved plaque containing an inscription recognizing his/her special contribution to the field.

The Nancy B. Olson award shall be administered by an Awards Committee, consisting of three OLAC members, no more than two of whom may be members of the OLAC Executive Board. The OLAC Past President shall chair the Awards Committee. The OLAC President shall sign the letter of presentation and present the award to the recipient at the OLAC annual membership meeting.

For the 2024 Nancy B. Olson Award, please send nominations and supporting documentation to:

Laura Kane McElfresh (
OLAC Vice President/President-Elect
Acting Nancy B. Olson Awards Committee Chair

List of Recipients:

  • Marcia Barrett, 2023
  • Cate Gerhart, 2022
  • No award, 2021
  • Kay Johnson, 2020
  • Bruce Evans, 2019
  • No award, 2018
  • No award, 2017
  • Heidi Frank 2016
  • Mary Huismann 2015 
  • No award, 2014
  • Kelley McGrath, 2013
  • Bobby (Robert) Bothmann, 2012
  • Greta de Groat, 2011
  • Julie Renee Moore, 2010
  • Paige G. Andrew, 2009
  • Mary Lynette Larsgaard, 2007
  • No award, 2006
  • Jay Weitz, 2005
  • Ann Caldwell, 2004
  • Jean R. Weihs, 2003
  • No award, 2002
  • No award, 2001
  • No award, 2000
  • Sheila A. Smyth, 1999 (first recipient of the newly named Nancy B. Olson Award)
  • John Attig, 1998
  • Sue Neumeister, 1997
  • No award, 1996
  • Laurel Jizba, 1995
  • No award, 1994
  • Ann Sandberg-Fox, 1993
  • Glenn Patton, 1992
  • Catherine Leonardi, 1991
  • Richard Thaxter, 1990
  • No award, 1989
  • Sheila Intner, 1988
  • Verna Urbanski, 1987
  • Nancy Olson, 1986 (OLAC Founder Award)
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software